At the turn of the 20th century, political activism in the United States reached a fever pitch.  In no other place was this more visible than the spirited policy debates between William Howard Taft and Theodore Roosevelt.  On April 27th, 1911, against this backdrop, thirty-two young men came together under the leadership of Benjamin M. Day, along with, Philip J. McCook, Lloyd Carpenter Griscom, Frederick Paul Keppel, Henry W. Goddard, Edward R. Finch, Alfred Conkling Coxe Jr., Lindon Bates Jr., Thomas D. Thacher, and Albert S. Bard to organize young Republicans in New York City.  They sought a forum where they could work within and for the Republican Party, yet be free to champion local candidates and criticize party policies when warranted.  To this end, these young men formed the New York Young Republican Club, as an offshoot of the earlier New York Young Men’s Republican Club, founded in 1879, which itself was a descendant of the even earlier New York Young Men’s Republican Union founded in 1856.

The Club grew quickly and in December 1911 held their first gala.  Senator William Edgar Borah was the keynote speaker at the gala for Guest of Honor, President of the United States William Howard Taft.  On February 19, 1912, the Club formally incorporated as the New York Young Republican Club Inc. with the express purpose:

“To promote and maintain the principles of the Republican Party; to foster within the Republican Party and make practical in service of the municipality, state and nation, the idealism characteristic of youth; to correct in our own party that tendency of all parties to make organization an end rather than a means; to develop sound principle and public spirit in party politics; to promote honest and fair electoral methods, to the end that the expression of the popular will by whatever party or body, shall be as free, untrammeled and equal as possible; to resist and expose political corruption; to advocate merit rather than partisan service as entitling to public office; to watch legislation and to encourage public attention to and efficiently criticize the conduct of government.”

Since that day, the Club has worked diligently to further the objects entrusted to us by the founding members for over a century.  As stewards of a proud tradition of advocacy, we invite you to join us as we build the Club and prepare it for the next 100 years.

Meet our Executive Committee

Our Executive Committee is composed of all elected and non-elective Club officers.

Gavin M. Wax


Gavin Mario Wax is the 76th President of the New York Young Republican Club.

He was elected unanimously in April of 2019 and re-elected unanimously to a second term in December of 2020.

In addition to serving as President of the New York Young Republican Club, he also serves as the Chairman of the Association of Young Republican Clubs, Digital Director of the Young Republican National Federation, Chairman of the New York Republican Liberty Caucus, Corresponding Secretary of the Association of New York State Young Republican Clubs, and as the National Spokesman of Republicans for National Renewal.

President's Message

Viswanag B. Burra

Vice President

Claire E. Roeschke


Nathan E. Berger

Recording Secretary

Ilana A. Markstein

Corresponding Secretary

Fernando Acosta Jr.


Meet our Board of Governors

Our Board of Governors is composed of all appointed committee chairmen and standing committee co-chairmen.

  • Activism Chairwoman: Elizabeth S. Ruh
  • Advisory Chairman: Brian J. Iwanicki
  • Campaigns Chairwoman: Nicole Kiprilov
  • Communications Chairwoman: Chelsea J. Hall
  • Design Chairman: Dylan J. Gallagher
  • Entertainment Chairwoman: Maria L. Fafian
  • Events Chairwoman: Macayle A. Carey
  • Finance Chairwoman: Vacant
  • Fundraising Chairwoman: Lauren I. Mazer
  • History Chairman: Aldo J. Solares
  • House Chairman: Vacant
  • Law Chairwoman: Kiera M. Guzzo
    • Law Co-Chairman: James F. West
  • Library Chairwoman: Joyce Wu
  • Media Chairwoman: Denice Flores Almendares
  • Membership Chairwoman: Asha D. Rampertaap
  • Outreach Chairwoman: Lauryn D. Lamp
  • Philanthropy Chairwoman: Amanda N. Gragg
  • Policy Chairman: Robert J. Timby V
  • Publications Chairman: Nicholas T. Rafael Jr.
  • Recruitment Chairman: Alexander B. Zhik
    • Recruitment Co-Chairwoman: Amanda L. Sullivan
  • Rules Chairman: Nicholas J. Tan


Learn More


Learn More

Meet our Board of Advisors

Our Board of Advisors is composed of influential minds in the conservative movement.

  • Darren J. Beattie
  • Eugene Garrett Bewkes IV
  • Tyler S. Bowyer
  • John J. Cardillo
  • William I. Chamberlain
  • Ronald D. Coleman
  • Steven C. Cortes
  • Austen L. Fletcher
  • Ryan A. Fournier
  • Paul A. Gosar
  • Pedro L. Gonzalez
  • Joshua B. Hammer
  • Raheem J. Kassam
  • Michelle Malkin
  • David B. Marcus
  • Chadwick A. Moore
  • Yechezkel Moskowitz
  • Deroy Murdock
  • John M. Posobiec III
  • Anthony Shaffer
  • Matthew R. Tyrmand

Members Holding Public Office

  • Federal:
    • Elise M. Stefanik, Chair of the House Republican Conference, United States House of Representatives (NY-21)
    • Lee M. Zeldin, United States House of Representatives (NY-1)
    • Claudia L. Tenney, United States House of Representatives (NY-22)
  • State:
    • Michael R. Martucci, New York State Senate (SD-42)
    • Colin J. Schmitt, New York State Assembly (AD-99)
    • Anthony F. Sabatini, Florida House of Representatives (HD-32)
  • Local:
    • Joseph C. Borelli, Minority Leader, New York City Council (CD-51) 
    • Inna E. Vernikov, Minority Whip, New York City Council (CD-48)
    • David Michael Carr, New York City Council (CD-50) 
    • Vickie Paladino, New York City Council (CD-19)
    • Marcus J. Molinaro, Dutchess County Executive
    • Brian M. Maher, Supervisor, Montgomery, New York
    • Benjamin N. Geller, Dutchess County Legislature (LD-4)
  • International: 
    • Harald Vilimsky, European Parliament (Austria)

Members Holding Political Office

  • John Burnett, Executive Vice-Chairman, New York Republican State Committee
  • Anthony Reinhart, Chairman, Richmond County Republican Committee
  • Richard T. Loughery, Chairman, Young Republican National Federation
  • Peter R. Giunta, Chairman, Association of New York State Young Republican Clubs
  • Augustus O. LeRoux, Chairman, New York Federation of College Republicans
  • Ashton Theodore Randle, Chairman, Tri-State Log Cabin Republicans

Club Documents







Original Certificate of Incorporation


Free Speech Policy


Sexual Harassment Policy


Code of Conduct


Clubhouse Rules

Learn More


Learn More

“The trouble with our Liberal friends is not that they’re ignorant; it’s just that they know so much that isn’t so.”

Join The Club!