The New York Young Republican Club has bestowed the following awards:

Phillip J. McCook Award

The Phillip J. McCook Award is given to a person in the community at large that best embodies the spirit and mission of the New York Young Republican Club, who exemplifies the fundamental ideals of Republicanism, such as liberty and individual responsibility, and who has demonstrated a dedication and service to both the Republican Party and society. Phillip J. McCook (1873-1963) was one of the Club’s original 32 founders and its first president, serving from 1911 to 1914. In 1919 he was elected to the Supreme Court in New York. In 1930 he was appointed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt to preside over the Ewald Healy job-buying inquiry, which eventually led to the famed Seabury investigation and a public airing of the corruption in Tammany politics in the Democratic party in New York City. Judge McCook came from a family with a reputation for bravery in combat. A family often called the “fighting McCooks.” His family had 15 men wearing Union Army uniform during the Civil War, and Judge McCook had the unusual distinction of having served in the U.S. Army in three wars. He was an infantry corporal in the Spanish-American War, an infantry major in World War I, and a colonel in the Judge Advocate General’s Corps in World War II. He was wounded during World War I at the Meuse and was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross.

Past Recipients:

  • Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • Jackie R. Robinson
  • Richard M. Nixon
  • Nelson A. Rockefeller
  • Charles Ellsworth Goodell Jr.
  • Kenneth B. Keating
  • Mark O. Hatfield
  • Alfonse M. D’Amato
  • George E. Pataki
  • Enrico A. Lazio
  • Margaret E. Noonan
  • Tom A. Coburn
  • Robert Price
  • Malcolm Stevenson Forbes Jr.
  • Rita E. Hauser
  • Monica Crowley
  • Louis B. Gohmert
  • Edward J. Rollins
  • Anthony Shaffer

Herbert Brownell Jr. Award

The Herbert Brownell Jr. Award goes to a Club alumnus that best embodies the spirit of Herbert Brownell Jr. (1904-1996). Brownell served as a member of the New York Assembly for five years, Chairman of the Republican National Committee, manager of Governor Thomas E. Dewey’s Presidential Campaign, and United States Attorney General under President Eisenhower for seven years. His example of service to both country and party has served as a standard to which we all aspire. Fittingly, this award winner must demonstrate a lifetime of achievement and dedication to both nation and party.

Past Recipients:

  • Constantine Sidamon-Eristoff
  • Roy M. Goodman
  • E. Virgil Conway
  • Jerold R. Ruderman
  • Ann Brownell Sloane
  • Margaret Jean McKee
  • Michael B. Mukasey
  • John C. Whitehead
  • Brian R. Morgenstern
  • Edward F. Cox

Frédéric René Coudert Jr. Award

The Frédéric René Coudert Jr. Award goes to an individual that best embodies the conservative spirit of Frédéric René Coudert Jr. (1898-1972). Coudert was a member of the New York State Senate from 1939 to 1946, sitting in the 162nd, 163rd, 164th, and 165th New York State Legislatures. Between 1940 and 1942, he helped lead the Rapp-Coudert Committee, which sought to identify the extent of communist influence in the public education system of the state of New York. Its inquiries lead to the dismissal of more than 40 instructors and staff members at the City College of New York. He was elected as a Republican to the 80th, 81st, 82nd, 83rd, 84th, and 85th United States Congresses, holding office from January 3, 1947, to January 3, 1959. Coudert was an outspoken conservative and endorsed William F. Buckley’s 1965 Conservative campaign for the New York City mayoralty over liberal Republican Congressman and fellow New York Young Republican Club alumnus John Lindsay. 

Past Recipients:

  • Stephen K. Bannon

John Foster Dulles Award

The John Foster Dulles Award goes to an individual that best embodies the anti-Communist spirit of John Foster Dulles (1888-1959). Dulles served as United States Secretary of State under President Dwight D. Eisenhower from 1953 to 1959. He was a significant figure in the early Cold War era, advocating an aggressive stance against communism throughout the world, believing it was “Godless terrorism.” Club alumnus, New York Governor Thomas E. Dewey appointed Dulles to the United States Senate to replace Democratic incumbent Robert F. Wagner, who had resigned due to ill health. Dulles served from July 7 to November 8, 1949. He lost the 1949 special election to finish the term to Democratic nominee Herbert H. Lehman.

Past Recipients:

  • Erik D. Prince

Stanley M. Isaacs Award

The Stanley M. Isaacs Award is presented to a non-board Club member who has made the most important contributions to the Club in the last year in the opinion of the Board of Governors. Stanley M. Isaacs (1882-1962), who served as Manhattan Borough President from 1938-1941, and Minority Leader of the City Council at the time of his death, made a lifetime commitment to supporting the Club and its endeavors. It is this legacy of service to the Club that future award recipients shall be measured against.

Past Recipients:

  • Samantha M. McNeily
  • Jennifer Gallacher
  • Richard Brownell
  • Gail Allen
  • Amanda McClane
  • Teresa Kelly
  • Kery Picket
  • Thoa Dang
  • Sharlene A. Santercole

Frederick Trubee Davison Award

The F. Trubee Davison Award is presented to a Republican candidate who displays the highest leadership qualities and character within the Republican Party in previous or current election cycles. F. Trubee Davison (1896-1974) was an American World War I aviator, Assistant United States Secretary of War, Director of Personnel for the Central Intelligence Agency, President of the American Museum of Natural History, and the Club’s first member elected to higher office. He was elected to the New York State Assembly from the 2nd District in 1922 and served until 1926, where he gained a reputation as being one of the hardest-working members. In 1925, he became head of the unofficial “Crime Commission,” sponsored by Judge Elbert H. Gary. In the New York state election, 1932, he ran for Lieutenant Governor of New York with William J. Donovan. Still, they were defeated in a landslide by Democrats Herbert H. Lehman and M. William Bray.

Past Recipients:

  • Daniel M. Donovan Jr. 
  • Christopher R. Wight