Skip to main content

In Defense of Armenia

By September 29, 2020No Comments

The New York Young Republican Club unreservedly condemns Azerbaijani aggression against the Armenian people. We call on the governments of the United States and all sovereign entities to recognize the independence of the Republic of Artsakh and to effect sufficient action to halt Azerbaijani aggression led by Radical Islamic Terrorist mercenaries against the Armenian people who inhabit it.

The Armenian people have a long history in the South Caucasus and the Armenian Highlands. The Republic of Artsakh contains sites of great historical significance to them, including the fourth-century Amaras Monastery. In the twentieth century, geopolitical events in Turkey and the Soviet Union dispossessed Armenians of much of their historic territory. The Armenian Genocide conducted by Turks destroyed untold lives and stole Mount Ararat from the Armenians. Further incursions into territory integral to the history and fundamental identity of the Armenian people cannot be tolerated.

Unsurprisingly, the Fake News Media in the West has inadequately relayed the truth of the events unfolding in the Republic of Artsakh. Turkey has fomented this battle and has imported Radical Islamic Terrorists from Syria to attack the Armenians. This continues a trend from decades ago whereby Armenia’s neighbors enlisted Afghan Mujahideen and Chechen mercenaries to attack. Allowing Turkey and Azerbaijan to use Radical Islamic Terrorists to attack Armenian Christians represents a dereliction of the United States’s fundamental values.

The New York Young Republican Club stands with the Armenian people and residents of the Republic of Artsakh, who overwhelmingly reject Azerbaijani claims of authority. We urge the Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Artsakh to cooperate efficaciously in the interest of the Armenian people, and we implore the global Armenian diaspora advocate in the shared interests of all Armenians. In addition, we request that President Donald J Trump enact economic and trade sanctions against Turkey and Azerbaijan.